Artboard 1 apply Artboard 1 copy 2 Mount_Logo_Primary_RGB Mount_Logo_Primary_RGB give Artboard 1 copy 3 info link Mount_Logo_Primary_RGB Artboard 1 Artboard 2 Artboard 1 visit

Mount Students Secure Prestigious Fellowships and Scholarships

fellowships featured

Among the 19 Mount fellows who applied for fellowships or scholarships this year are, top row from left to right, Elizabeth O'Hare, Matthew McDonald, Elizabeth Boyle, Veronica Balick and Ian Schirra. Seated are Sydney Johnson and Patrick Aquino.

Mount St. Mary's University students have been awarded a variety of prestigious fellowships and scholarships this spring. Guided by the Office of Competitive Fellowships, the students earned Fulbright English Teaching Assistant Awards, Barry Goldwater Scholarship, Boren Scholarship and other honors. Nineteen sophomore through senior students applied for 13 fellowship and scholarship programs, with five students receiving awards from four programs to date.

"These awards speak to the outstanding quality of our students and their ability to compete on the national level," said Assistant Professor of History Jamie Gianoutsos, Ph.D., who directs the Office of Competitive Fellowships. "These opportunities enrich students' learning and broaden cultural experiences." For students who are not selected, the experience is worthwhile, helping them to hone in on their aspirations.

The students credit the guidance of the Office of Competitive Fellowships as being instrumental in their success. "I am extremely grateful to Drs. Blackshaw, Gianoutsos, Naberhaus, and Patterson from the Mount Fellows for encouraging and guiding me throughout this process and challenging me to apply my experiences on campus, in the hospital and lab, and abroad to my post-graduate work," said Elizabeth O'Hare, C'19, a biochemistry and biology major, who was awarded a Fulbright English Teaching Assistant Award. "Applying for the Fulbright ETA to Poland gave me the opportunity to understand what I want to do, why, and how to articulate my aspirations and interests to others. The process of understanding myself, going through several drafts, and preparing for multiple interviews was difficult, but it challenged me to work hard in order to achieve my dreams."

The awardees, all of whom are honors students, are:

  • Kaitlyn Heintzelman, C'19, a triple major in English, French and theology: Fulbright English Teaching Assistant Award, Luxembourg
  • Elizabeth O'Hare, C'19, a biochemistry and biology major: Fulbright English Teaching Assistant Award, Poland
  • Isabel Russell (nee Ross), C'19, a history major with minors in education and political science: James Madison Graduate Fellowship
  • Veronica Balick, C'20, a biochemistry and biology major: Barry Goldwater Scholarship
  • Matthew McDonald, C'21, a mathematics and computer sciences major: Boren Scholarship

In addition, Elizabeth Boyle, C'19, a history major, was named an alternate for the Fulbright Research/Study Grant to the University of Liverpool in the United Kingdom. Candidates with alternate status are offered awards if additional funding becomes available through the Fulbright program. Boyle participated in the US-UK Fulbright Summer Institute at the University of Bristol for four weeks in the summer of 2017.

The Mount also is awaiting word on the status of applicants for the NOAA Hollings Scholarship, Department of Defense SMART Scholarship and US-UK Fulbright Summer Institute.

In addition to Gianoutsos, the Office of Competitive Fellowships includes Associate Director Christine Blackshaw, Ph.D., associate professor of Spanish literature and culture; Thane Naberhaus, Ph.D., associate professor of philosophy; Garth Patterson, Ph.D., assistant professor of chemistry; and Angy Kallarachal, assistant professor in psychology.