Artboard 1 apply Artboard 1 copy 2 Mount_Logo_Primary_RGB Mount_Logo_Primary_RGB give Artboard 1 copy 3 info link Mount_Logo_Primary_RGB Artboard 1 Artboard 2 Artboard 1 visit

Five Mount Students Selected for Prestigious National Security Scholars Program

nssp feature

The Independent College Fund of Maryland (I-Fund) recently announced that five Mount St. Mary’s University students have been chosen for the 2019 National Security Scholars Program (NSSP).

The students are Timothy Castillo, C'20, a cybersecurity major; Kaitlyn Coffey, C'21, a computer science major; Matthew McDonald, C'21, a math and computer science major; Joshua Snavely, C'20, a computer science major; and Michael Stumpo, C'21, a cybersecurity and computer science major.

The prestigious program offers substantial scholarships, assistance with national security clearance processing, internships, and the possibility of future employment in the national security industry to students who attend an I-Fund member college or university.

The NSSP scholars each received between $6,500 and $10,000 in scholarship funds and paid summer internships at the National Security Agency (NSA) or one of 10 corporate NSSP Partners:

  • BrainTrust
  • Fuse Engineering
  • Geon Technologies
  • Leidos
  • Lockheed Martin
  • ManTech
  • Northrup Grumman
  • Praxis
  • Raytheon
  • Tech USA

Now entering its 21st year, the NSSP has awarded $3.8 million in scholarships to more than 300 students attending an I-Fund member college or university. Through the NSSP, the I-Fund aids Maryland and the nation in the critical and increasing need for qualified, security-cleared agents to support the intelligence and defense industry.

An information session for students who are considering applying for the program will be held at 4 p.m. on September 11 in the O’Hara Room of the McGowan Center. The deadline for applications is October 18.